The Drug Offender Education Program is a state-approved program certified by the Texas Department of State Health Services. This class is for individuals who have been charged with a misdemeanor or felony drug offense. This class satisfies the requirement for education to have a person’s driver’s license reinstated that was suspended because of a drug charge. The standardizedprogram is 15 hours in length, taught in five 3 hour segments. It is designed to educate participants on drug abuse. Participants are required to develop a personal action plan so that they can avoid future drug use and the resulting consequences. The course is taught at the CSCD by a certified instructor at the cost of $120.00 per participant. Participants are required to complete a pre-test at the time of their registration, and must have their registration fee paid no later than the Wednesday preceding the week the program begins.
Driving While Intoxicated Education Program (DWI-ED)
Texas statutes require persons convicted of a first offense Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) and receiving probation, to attend and successfully complete an educational program certified by the Texas Department of State Health Services. Failure to complete the program within 180 days from the date probation was granted will result in the offender’s driver’s license being revoked. The offender’s driver’s license cannot be reinstated until the educational program is completed. The standardized program is 12 hours in length, taught in three 4 hour segments. It is designed to help DWI offenders increase their knowledge about alcohol and drugs as these substances relate to driving skills, to identify their own individual drinking/drug use and driving patterns, and to assist them in developing plans which will reduce the probability of future DWI behavior. The course is taught at the CSCD by a certified instructor at the cost of $100.00 per participant. Participants are required to complete a pre-test at the time of registration, and must have their registration fee paid no later than the Wednesday preceding the week the program begins.
Driving While Intoxicated Intervention Program (DWI Repeat Offender Program)
Texas statutes require persons convicted of subsequent DWI offenses to attend a program for “repeat offenders” approved by the Texas Department of Health Services. Failure to complete the program will result in the offender’s driver’s license being revoked until the program has been completed. This standardized program is 32 hours in length and is designed for multiple DWI offenders and/or others who have alcohol or drug-related problems. Specific course topics include lifestyle issues, values, self-esteem, positive thinking vs. irrational beliefs, responsibility, physiological/psychological effects of drugs, alcoholism, chemical dependency, how substance abuse affects family members, co-dependency, Al-Anon, treatment options, 12-Step self-help groups, peer pressure, relapse prevention , problem solving and action planning. The course is taught at the CSCD by a certified instructor at the cost of $300.00 per participant. Half of the registration fee must be paid before the course begins, and the other half before the course is completed. The course is taught in 3 hour segments, 2 evenings a week for 5-6 weeks.
Substance Abuse Treatment (SAT) Program
The Substance Abuse Treatment Program is for offenders who have been court-ordered or referred by their supervising officer to attend a program for substance abuse. The program is based on the Hazelden Matrix Model (a comprehensive, evidence-based, intensive outpatient treatment program for alcohol and drug abusers). Before entering the program, participants go through an individual assessment by the CSCD’s drug counselor to determine appropriateness for the group meetings. If accepted for the program, the participant attends a two hour group meeting each week for 12 weeks. All meetings are at the CSCD, and are facilitated by a Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor (LCDC). The cost of the program is $120.00 per participant which may be paid out in installments. The participant, also, reports to his/her supervision officer two time per month during the 12 weeks. In addition to attending group, the defencant has homework, two individual sessions each month for 3 months with the counselor, receives one home visit by his/her supervision officer each month, a drug screen at least once a month for 6 months, and attends 2 AA/NA/ARM meetings each week.
If a participant is recently returned from a SAFP, CRTC, or private treatment center, s/he will attend an additional 12 weeks with the aforementioned requirements. The additional 12 weeks is focused on treatment and aftercare.
The intensive component of the program is for participants who have already been through the regular 12 or 24 week components, but have continued substance abuse problems and/or have been assessed and found to bew in need of intensive treatment. The intensive component meets at a different time than the regular component.
Victim Impact Panel (VIP) Program
The VIP Program is conducted at the CSCD and facilitated by members of MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Drivers). The program is presented by victims of crime and serves to heighten victim sensitivity and awareness among the offenders attending by learning of the devastating and long-term effects of crime from the crime victim or survivor of a victim of crime. The cost of the program for participants is $30.00 which must be paid in the form of a money order that is paid directly to MADD at the beginning of the program. The program is presented quarterly in one evening, from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Financial Management Program
The Financial Management Program is provided for the CSCD through the Palo Pinto County Extension Office on a quarterly basis. The course, based on the popular “Money Wise” curriculum, teaches offenders effective ways to manage their personal finances and budgeting so they can have time and energy required to nurture themselves and their children, while still meeting their court-ordered financial obligations. The program is presented at the Palo Pinto Extension Office and is 2 hours in length. Participants receive and get to keep workbooks from the program. Cost of the program to participants is $10.00 which is paid to the instructor immediately prior to the class beginning.